Sunday , 30 April 2017
Home -> About -> Center for Creative Change

Center for Creative Change

Center for Creative Change

The Center for Creative Change (CCC) is dedicated to strengthening civic discourse in order to find creative solutions to age-old problems. Through Moment Magazine and related projects, the CCC aims to build and educate a network of people interested in serious, intellectual exchange on the important issues of our time and to expose anti-Semitism and other deeply ingrained prejudices. Nadine Epstein is the executive director. As a dedicated 501(c)(3) based in Washington, DC, the CCC may accept tax-deductible gifts. The CCC is not a sectarian organization.

Moment Magazine

Founded by Nobel Peace Prize laureate Elie Wiesel and writer Leonard Fein in 1975, and relaunched in 2004 by Nadine Epstein, the magazine provides independent journalism from a pluralistic Jewish perspective.

The Karma Foundation-Moment Magazine Fiction Contest

Established in 2000 by Josh Rolnick and Harvey TK, this prestigious international annual contest encourages writers of any faith to submit short fiction about a subject related to Judaism or Jewish culture or history. Judges have included Jonathan Safran Foer, Geraldine Brooks, Dara Horn, Anita Diamant, Judy Budnitz and others, and award ceremonies have been held in Washington, DC and New York City. This contest is generously funded by the Karma Foundation.

DEADLINE: January 29, 2016.

Recent Winners

2015: Judged by Jami Attenberg

First Place: “Summer is for People” by Miriam Karmel

Second Place: “Vanished Jews of Hetta” by Jason K. Friedman

2014: Judged by Alice Hoffman

First Place: “Lecha Dodi” by Paul B. Cohen

Second Place: “Killing Brother Michael” by Danielle Leshaw

Third Place: “Lead Apron” by Courtney Sender

2012: Judged by Alan Cheuse

First Place: “The Inker” by Becky Tuch

Second Place: “The Nothing of History” by Lauren Watel

Third: “The Girl of the Comet” by Roberta Newman

2011: Judged by Walter Mosley

First Place: “Roots” by Joan Leegant. Joan Leegant is the author of a novel, Wherever You Go, and a story collection, An Hour in Paradise, which won the Winship/PEN New England Book Award, the Wallant Award for Jewish Fiction, and was a finalist for the National Jewish Book Award. She divides her time between Boston and Tel Aviv, where she teaches at Bar-Ilan University.

Second Place: “A Beggar’s Place” by Ruchama King Feuerman.

Third Place: “Those Who Go About the City” by Avital Chizhick.

2010: Judged by Nicole Krauss

First Place: “Blue” by Jason K. Friedman. Jason K. Friedman’s short fiction has appeared in literary magazines and short-fiction anthologies including Best American Gay Fiction. He has published two children’s books, the thriller Phantom Trucker and the nonfiction Haunted Houses. Friedman works as a technical writer.

Second Place: “Infections” by Dalia Rosenfeld.

Third Place: “Processes” by Laura Price.

2009: Judged by Erica Jong

First Place: “Jerusalem Stone” by Sherri Mandell.

Second Place: “The Goose Girl” by Sally Schloss.

2008: Judged by Anita Diamant

First Place: “Levi” by Racelle Rosett.

Second Place: Judith Groudine Finkel.

Third Place: “The Kiss” by Amy Graubart Katz

2007: Judged by Geraldine Brooks

First Place: “How Beautiful Are Your Tents O Jacob” by Joe Kraus. Joe Kraus is Associate Professor of English at the University of Scranton. He is the co-author of An Accidental Anarchist, and has published his creative and scholarly work in The American Scholar, The Centennial Review, Riverteeth, MELUS, and Callaloo, among other places. He lives in Kingston, Pennsylvania with his wife and their three sons.

Second Place: “Three Dreams” by Andi Arnovitz.

Third Place: “Yiddish Land” by Ellen Davis Sullivan.


The Moment Magazine Emerging Writer Awards

Founded in 2004, the program’s mission is to seek out talented writers of any age—who have not yet received widespread recognition or won a major literary award—who have published at least one book that confronts themes that are of interest to millions of Jewish readers. The Moment Magazine Emerging Writer Awards are chaired by David Bruce Smith and Sarah Breger. Panelists include: Shulamaith Elster, Jackie Leventhal, Faye Moskowitz, Miriam Morsel Nathan, Gayle Wald and Sue Zuckerman.

Recent Winners

2011: To be announced in the November/December 2012 issue.


Fiction: The Cosmopolitans by Nadia Kalman.

Non-fiction: 97 Orchard by Jane Ziegelman.


Fiction: Pictures at an Exhibition by Sara Houghteling

Non-fiction: Amen, Amen Amen: Memoir of a Girl Who Couldn’t Stop Praying (Among Other Things) by Abby Sher


Fiction: Petropolis by Anya Ulinich

Non-fiction: The Invisible Wall by Harry Bernstein



Rabbi Harold S. White Fellowship

This annual fellowship pairs Moment with a beginning journalist who works full-time for one year at the magazine. Fellows have the opportunity to learn independent journalism skills, which will stay with them throughout their careers. The fellowship is named for Rabbi Harold S. White, who, for more than 40 years, has served as an interpreter of Judaism to Jews and non-Jews, and who has managed to articulate—as few have—the global dimensions of Jewish culture. It is funded by friends and admirers of Rabbi White.


2011-2012: Caitlin Yoshiko Kandil

2010-2011: Niv Elis

2009-2010: Sarah Breger

2008-2009: Jeremy Gillick


Eugene M. Grant Fellowship

Since 2011, this annual fellowship supports a young journalist who works full-time at Moment for one year and is fully integrated into the life and workings of the magazine. Fellows have the opportunity to learn independent journalism and publishing skills, which will stay with them throughout their careers. The fellowship is named for Eugene M. Grant, a longtime leader of the Moment board. It is funded in Mr. Grant’s honor by Robert and Sherry Wiener.


2011-2012: Sala Levin


Publish-A-Kid Contest

This popular contest invites young readers, ages 9 to 13, to write reviews of selected books. Hundreds of children from all over the world participate, and teachers often include the contest as part of their curriculum. Winning entries will be published in the magazine.

DEADLINE: February 15, 2013


The Book Thief  by Markus Zusak, 2006

The Adventures of Rabby Harvey  by Steve Sheinkin, 2006

Incantation by Alice Hoffman, 2006

Prince William, Maximilian, Minsky, and Me by Holly-Jane Rahlens, 2005

Sam I Am by Ilene Cooper, 2004

Milkweed by Jerry Spinelli, 2003

Dave at Night, by Gail Carson Levine, 1999

Running on Eggs by Anna Levine

Habibi by Naomi Shihab Nye, 1997

Journey to America by Sonia Levitin, 1993

Number the Stars by Lois Lowry, 1989

When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr, 1971

Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume, 1970

The Pushcart War by Jean Merril, 1964

Anne Frank: The Young Writer Who Told the World Her Story by Ann Kramer, 2007

Einstein: Visionary Scientist by John Severance, 1999